Four Strong Running Backs Announced For 2017 Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic

     MONTGOMERY – Four strong running backs have been chosen for the 40-player Alabama All-Star Team that will face Mississippi in the 31th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Football Game Dec. 16 at the University of Southern Mississippi at Hattiesburg.
     The roster, comprised of current high school seniors, is being released this year by position this week. Defensive linemen were announced Monday, offensive linemen on Tuesday, linebackers and defensive end on Wednesday and defensive backs will be released Friday, according to Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association. 
     The annual all-star contest is an event of the AHSADCA and the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) and the Mississippi Association of Coaches (MAC). Steve Smith of Piedmo
nt is serving as Alabama’s head coach.
     The running backs selected include: Carlos Davis, Muscle Shoals; Asa Martin, Austin; Clay Stearns, Mountain Brook; and LaDamian Webb, Beauregard. Webb was selected Mr. Football as a junior after rushing for 3,242 yards and scoring 53 touchdowns. He led Beauregard to the Class 5A state title last season with a Super 7 record 51 carries and 359 yards in the 33-13 win over Wenonah. He scored all five touchdowns for the Hornets.
     Photos, videos, statistics and other information on each of the all-stars can be found at www.ahsaanow.com.


     The remaining members of the squad will be released in the following order:
     Friday, Oct. 20: Defensive Backs
     Saturday, Oct. 21: Wide Receivers/Tight Ends
     Sunday, Oct. 22: Quarterbacks/Kickers
   The game, which has been played annually since 1988, was played in Mississippi for the first time in 2015 with Mississippi winning 28-21. Alabama rebounded to win 25-14 last year at Cramton Bowl and improved its edge in the series to 22-8.
      The game will be televised live over the Raycom Network of stations in Mississippi and Alabama. The contest will also be broadcast live over the AHSAA Radio Network.

Attached Files

Comments are closed.