AHSAA Cross Country Spotlight Homewood’s Stone, Catholic’s Tyynismaa Record AHSAA’s Best Times to win Jesse Owens Invitational

  MONTGOMERY – Homewood High School junior Will Stone clocked 15:22.12 to win the Gold Division of the 19th annual Jesse Owens Cross Country Invitational at Oakville Indian Mounds Park near Moulton last weekend.
  The Jesse Owens meet is one of the most prestigious high school meets in the nation with 1,375 boys’ participants representing 158 teams competing this year. The girls’ division had 1,209 runners representing 138 schools. Schools competed in five different divisions (Gold, Silver, Bronze, Green and Red). More than 3,000 runners competed counting the middle school and junior varsity divisions.
   A total of 303 runners participated in the Gold Division with Vestavia Hills senior James Sweeney finishing second with a time of 16:25.01.
   Pope High School of Marietta (GA) captured the team championship with 155 points. Siegel of Murfreesboro (TN) was second with 179. Enterprise was the top Alabama team finishing third with 292 points.
   Amaris Tyynismaa of Montgomery Catholic turned her in best time of the season and the fastest time in the state in 2017 in the girls’ Gold Division to win with a time of 17:50.51.  The talented junior’s time over the 5,000-meter course at Oakhill was also the best of the year in the state.  McGill-Toolen Catholic senior Grace Jensen was second at 18:07.88. Auburn won Gold Division team championship in the 27-team field with 60 points. Houston of Germantown (TN) was second with 111.
    The Jesse Owens Classic highlighted the week’s competition and grabbed the AHSAA Cross Country Spotlight for week 6 of the 2017 season.
    Other cross country highlights from the past week include:

JESSE OWENS CLASSIC (Silver Division):
McGill-Toolen Catholic posted 195 points and finished second in the 19th annual Invitational’s Silver Division to Pearl (MS), which had 57. Connor Sims, a junior at Brewer High School, crossed the finish line in fourth place with a time of 16:46.34 for the top Alabama runner finish. Junior Alex Ponce of Merrol Hyde Magnet of Hendersonville (TN) won the race in 16:33.66.
JESSE OWENS CLASSIC (Bronze Division): Senior Fuad Qushair of St. John Paul II Catholic won the meet’s bronze division with a time of 16:42.76. Winfield junior Davis Holdbrooks was second at 16:48.2. Montgomery Catholic won the team title with 117 points. Trinity Presbyterian was second at 119. A total of 431 runners participated.
JESSE OWENS CLASSIC (Red Division): A total of 498 runners representing 39 teams competed in the Red Division race comprised of predominantly 6A and 7A schools. Franklin (TN) won with 54 points. Homewood was the top AHSAA team finishing sixth with 179 points.  Prattville senior Wesley Domsalla crossed the finish line in second place with a time of 17:333.48. Gavin DeJongh, a freshman at Franklin, finished first clocking 17:31.40.
JESSE OWENS CLASSIC (Green Division): St. Bernard senior Andrew Sweeney was first in the field of 337 runners with a winning time of 16:34.71 in the Green Division consisting of teams from Class 1A-3A. Westminster of Oak Mountain senior Nate Collins was second at 16:44.66. Hebron Christian of Dacula (GA) won the team title with 44 points. Westminster was second with 74 points. Thirty-six teams competed for the championship.
T.R. MILLER CHALLENGE:  Zion Chapel runner Austin Joye finished the 5,000-meter course in 18:45.87 to finish third behind Pensacola-Tate’s Brandon Knieja (17:52.83). Tailand Mitchell finished two seconds behind Joye in fourth place in the 119-runner field to lead T.R. Miller to the team championship. The Tigers had 53 points.
TITANS TRAIL INVITATIONAL: Gadsden City won its own meet with 35 points as Jonah Morris crossed the finish line first clocking 20:03.16 for the Titans. Camron McDaniel of Cedar Bluff was second running 20:16.16.
GUNTERSVILLE INVITATIONAL (1A-4A Division):  Brindlee Mountain won the 1A-4A race held at Corners Island on Lake Guntersville with 21 points as Brandon Mendez finished first with 17:34.87 time. Brindlee Mountain teammates Zach Mooneyham and Brighten Davis were third and fourth, respectively, in the field of 41 runners. DAR’s Kyle Saylor finished second clocking 17:14.74 .99 to lead the Patriots to second place (38).
GUNTERSVILLE INVITATIONAL (5A-7A Division):  Guntersville’s Sam Moultrie won the 5A-7A Division with a strong time of 16:29.75 in the 79-runner field. Chance Cofield led Albertville to the team title with a second-place time of 17:07.07. The Aggies had 31 points. Runner-up Guntersville totaled 51.

CLASSIC (Silver Division):
Eighth grader MacKenzie Culpepper had the top time of Alabama schools in the Silver Division of the 19th annual Invitational at Oakville Indian Mounds Park. She was fifth clocking 19:43.50. Clare Pinter, a junior for Pearl (MS), won the race in 19:28.66 to beat the 260-runner field and led her school to the team title. Pearl had 64 points and Fort Payne was second with 71.
JESSE OWENS CLASSIC (Bronze Division): Lawrence County seventh grader Savannah Williams clocked a winning time of 19:40.68 to win the Bronze Division race. Abby Nunnelly, a junior from Alexandria, was third (19:55.57) in the field of 292 participants. Scottsboro finished first with 67 points and Lawrence County was second with 87. Freshman Hannah Cloud led the winning Wildcats with a ninth-place finish and time of 20:50.27.
JESSE OWENS CLASSIC (Red Division): A total of 23 teams and 262 runners competed in the competition comprised of Class 6A and 7A schools with Homewood finished third overall behind winner Ravenwood of  Brentwood (TN). The Lady Patriots posted 74 points and Ravenwood had 59. Freshman Elizabeth Allen of Enterprise was third overall and teammate Catherine Ragsdale, a seventh grader, was fourth with times of 21:05.78 and 21:12.74, respectively, Ravenwood’s Isabella Sleenhof was first with a 20:57.99 time.
JESSE OWENS CLASSIC (Green Division): Hatton won the team title with 112 points in the 22-team field. Sophomore Ally Amerson finished eighth to lead the Hornets. St. Bernard senior Leahrose Mami won the individual title with a winning time of 20:11.58.
T.R. MILLER CHALLENGE:  Olivia Blackmon clocked 19:51.15 for the host Tigers to finish first among the 75 participants at the 5,000-meter race held at Brewton. St. Paul’s Episcopal won the team competition with 30 points to edge the T.R. Miller (35). Isabel Valenzuela paced the winning Saints with a second-place finish with a 20:18.67.
TITANS TRAIL INVITATIONAL: Gadsden City runner Catherine Clements won the girls’ race at the Titans Challenge with a time of 24:07.81. Cedar Bluff finished with 25 points to win the team title. The Titans were second with 36 points.
GUNTERSVILLE INVITATIONAL (1A-4A Division):  DAR runners Haley Hughes and Slone Butler finished 1-2 in the Class 1A-4A division race at Corners Island on Lake Guntersville with times of 21:25.54 and 22:08.99, respectively. Brindlee Mountain won the team championship with 41 points. Sardis was second with 60 and DAR third with 70. Sixty runners competed.
GUNTERSVILLE INVITATIONAL (5A-7S Division):  Grissom’s Janey McManus had a winning time of 19:12.50 to take first place in the 50-runner field of the Class 5A-7A division and led Grissom to the team title. The Lady Tigers had 37 points and runner-up Arab had 49.

Comments are closed.