John Petty, Bianca Jackson Capture ASWA Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards

      MONTGOMERY – Seniors John Petty of Huntsville’s Mae Jemison High School and Bianca Jackson of Montgomery’s Brewbaker Tech were named Mr. and Miss Basketball, respectively, at the Alabama Sportswriters Association 2017 Player of the Year luncheon Tuesday.
     The awards were presented by Carol Golsan, senior vice president of marketing services for AHSAA Corporate Partner ALFA Insurance, and selected by the Alabama Sportswriters Association’s All-State Committee comprised of member sportswriters from across the state.  The luncheon banquet at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center.
     The ASWA has chosen Mr. Basketball every year since 1983 and Miss Basketball annually since 1988. The awards are presented to the boy and girl selected as the state’s top high school basketball players as determined by the ASWA.
    Petty, who was also named Mr. Basketball in 2016, became just the third player to be named Mr. Basketball twice in the award’s 35-year history. Trevor Lacey of Huntsville-Butler won the award in 2010 and 2011 and Ronald Steele of Birmingham’s John Carroll Catholic captured the award in 2003 and 2004.
     The Alabama signee led Jemison -- a first-year school -- to the Class 5A state championship in 2017, averaging 20.7 points, 7.7 rebounds and 5.6 assists. The Jaguars, coached by Jack Doss, finished 33-4. He was named the state-tournament MVP for the third straight year. The Alabama signee led J.O. Johnson, a school closed last summer and also coached by Doss, to state titles in 2015 and 2016. He also captured was named Class 5A Player of the Year for the third time, becoming just the 12th player in AHSAA history to win at least three player-of-the-year awards.
     Jackson, the daughter of Alabama State University men’s basketball coach Lewis Jackson and ASU women’s basketball coach Frieda Freeman-Jackson, averaged 24.8 points per game as a senior and finished her Brewbaker Tech career with 2,177 points. She signed last November with reigning NCAA national champion South Carolina. Jackson also averaged 7.8 rebounds and 5.2 assists to help the Rams reach at least 18 wins for an eighth straight season. She helped Brewbaker Tech, coached by Cynthia Thompson, to a 19-9 record in 2017.
      Jackson recorded three triple-doubles, including a single-game record 58-point outburst versus Greenville in January that tied for fifth highest scoring effort in AHSAA history. She also had 12 rebounds and 10 assists that win.
     Both Petty and Jackson were four-time first-team All-State players in their prep careers. Petty was just the sixth boy and Jackson the 18th girl in ASWA history to be at least a four-time first-teamer.
     ASWA Boys’ Players of the Year announced Tuesday were: Trendon Watford, Mountain Brook (7A); Alex Reese, Pelham (6A); John Petty, Mae Jemison (5A); Herb Jones, Hale County (4A); Shy Cunningham, Midfield (3A); Anquaevious Pollard, LaFayette (2A); Diante Wood, Sacred Heart Catholic (1A); Artavious Billups, Macon-East (AISA).
    ASWA Girls’ Players of the Year announced Tuesday were: Haley Troup, Gadsden City (7A); Ajah Wayne, Homewood (6A); Bianca Jackson, Brewbaker Tech (5A); Queen Ford, Sipsey Valley (4A); Allie Craig Cruce, Lauderdale County (3A); Kirstin Brown, Tanner (2A); River Baldwin, Pleasant Home (1A); Tazsa Garrett-Hammett, Springwood (AISA).
   The top five vote-getters in the Mr. and Miss Basketball balloting were named to the ASWA Super 5 All-State Team. Petty received all 13 first-place votes to headline the boys’ squad. Jackson received nine of the 14 first-place votes cast to headline the girls’ squad. Ajah Wayne of Homewood and Maori Davenport of Charles Henderson received two votes each and Unique Thompson of Faith Academy received the other first-place vote.

John Petty, Mae Jemison; Trendon Watford, Mountain Brook; Alex Reese, Pelham; Herb Jones, Hale County; Diante Wood, Sacred Heart.
Bianca Jackson, Brewbaker Tech; Unique Thompson, Faith Academy; Maori Davenport, Charles Henderson; Ajah Wayne, Homewood; Haley Troup, Gadsden City.


2017: Bianca Jackson, Brewbaker Tech

2016: Jasmine Walker, Jeff Davis

2015: Shaquera Wade, Huntsville

2014: Shakayla Thomas, Sylacauga

2013: Marqu’es Webb, Hoover

2012: Jasmine Jones, Bob Jones

2011: Hayden Hamby, West Morgan

2010: Kaneisha Horn, Ramsay

2009: Jala Harris, Bob Jones

2008: Courtney Jones, Midfield

2007: Katherine Graham, Ramsay

2006: Shanavia Dowdell, Calera

2005: Whitney Boddie, Florence

2004: Starr Orr, Speake

2003: Sidney Spencer, Hoover

2002: Kate Mastin, Boaz

2001: Donyel Wheeler, Huffman

2000: Natasha Thomas, Lawrence County

1999: Tasheika Morris, Butler

1998: Gwen Jackson, Eufaula

1997: April Nance, Butler

1996: Nicole Carruth, Sulligent

1995: Heather Mayes, Fyffe

1994: Pam Duncan, Carrollton

1993: Leah Monteith, Cherokee County

1992: Yolanda Watkins, Decatur

1991: Tonya Tice, Hamilton

1990: Karen Killen, Mars Hill Bible

1989: Leslie Claybrook, St. James

1988: Jeaniece Slater, Hartselle



2017: John Petty, Mae Jemison

2016: John Petty, J.O. Johnson

2015: Dazon Ingram, Theodore

2014: William Lee, Dallas County

2013: De’Runnya Wilson, Wenonah

2012: Craig Sword, Carver-Montgomery

2011: Trevor Lacey, Butler

2010: Trevor Lacey, Butler

2009: Kerron Johnson, Madison Academy

2008: JaMychal Green, St. Jude

2007: Courtney Fortson, Jeff Davis

2006: Stanley Robinson, Huffman

2005: Richard Hendrix, Athens

2004: Ronald Steele, John Carroll

2003: Ronald Steele, John Carroll

2002: Kennedy Winston, Blount

2001: Chris White, Grissom

2000: Gerald Wallace, Childersburg

1999: Marvin Stone, Grissom

1998: Sam Haginas, UMS-Wright

1997: Anthony Williams, Loachapoka

1996: Isaac Spencer, Jeff Davis

1995: Brian Williams, Jeff Davis

1994: Rod Willie, Lee-Huntsville

1993: Howard Pride, Butler

1992: Darryl Wilson, South Lamar

1991: Victor Newman, Houston Academy

1990: Cedric Moore, Woodlawn

1989: Queintonia Higgins, Fairhope

1988: Terrence Lewis, Ramsay

1987: Bryant Lancaster, Valley

1986: Larry Rembert, Keith

1985: Vincent Robinson, Bridgeport

1984: Jeff Moore, Midfield

1983: Terry Coner, Phillips-Birmingham

Comments are closed.