104 Teams Advance to Round 2 Of AHSAA Football Playoffs

     MONTGOMERY – All 19 unbeaten teams and five of six defending state champions from 2013 survived round one of the Alabama High School Athletic Association 2014 State football Playoffs Friday and will be in the 104-team field for round two this Friday. All games are scheduled Nov. 14 at  7 p.m.
     For the first time in AHSAA history seven state champions will be crowned when the playoffs culminate the five-week regimen with the Super 7 State Championships at Auburn’s Jordan-Hare Stadium Dec. 3-4-5.
     Pickens County, moving up from Class 1A to Class 2A this season, fell to Flomaton 35-21 Friday and was the only 2013 state champion eliminated from this week’s field. Other defending champions Tanner (9-2), Madison Academy (10-1), Oneonta (9-2), Spanish Fort (10-1) and Hoover (9-2) all advanced. Hoover will host its Class 7A second-round game at home against Region 3 rival Tuscaloosa County. Spanish Fort, winners in 5A last season, hosts Benjamin Russell (10-1) in the 6A playoffs this week. Oneonta is at home against Haleyville (9-2), Madison Academy welcomes Piedmont (8-3) in 3A and Tanner travels to Randolph County (9-2).
     Class 6A Clay-Chalkville (11-0) posted an 85-50 win over Scottsboro in round one in what is became the most points ever scored in a state playoff game. The 135 combined points ranks third all-time behind Parrish’s 81-58 win over Hubbertville in 2003 (139 point) and Slocomb’s 124-12 win over Houston County (136) in 1931.
     The Cougars will host Muscle Shoals (8-2) this week.
     Fairhope (11-0) is the only unbeaten team in the new 7A division. The Pirates will host Region1 rival Foley this Friday.
     Other unbeaten teams include: Class 1A: Brantley (11-0), Donoho (11-0) Maplesville (10-0) and Hubbertville (10-0); Class 2A: Washington County (11-0), Elba (11-0), Fyffe (11-0), Ranburne (10-0) and G.W. Long (10-0); Class 3A: Dale County (11-0), Montgomery Academy (11-0), Gordo (11-0) and Glencoe (11-0); Class 4A: none. Class 5A: St. Paul’s Episcopal (11-0), Guntersville (11-0) and East Limestone (11-0); Class 6A: McAdory (11-0) and Clay-Chalkville (11-0).
      Region champions won 47 of 52 first-round games, and region runners-up won 32 of 52 first-round games. Third seeds posted 20 wins and No. 4 seeds won five contests.
     A total of 52 games are set for Friday with eight contests in each of the AHSAA’s 1A thru 6A classifications and fourth in Class 7A. The 49th annual state playoffs began with four teams competing for one state championship in what was then Class 4A in 1966. Championship play for all schools was implemented the following year in 1967 with four divisions. The six-class system began in 1984 and was replaced last January with the new seven-classification system.
    The quarterfinals for classes 1A-61 will be Nov. 21 and semifinals Nov. 28. Class 7A semifinals will be next Nov. 21. The Class 7A finals will be Wednesday, Dec. 3 at 7 p.m. at Jordan-Hare Stadium on the Auburn University campus. Classes 3A, 1A and 5A will have finals on Thursday, Dec. 4 at 11 a.m., 3 p.m. and 7 p.m., respectively. Classes 4A, 2A and 6A will follow the same time schedule for Super 7 finals on Friday, Dec. 5.

Second-Round Pairings
Friday, Nov. 14

Class 1A
South Sub-State
Linden (7-3) at Brantley (11-0)
Billingsley (8-2) at Ellwood Christian (5-6), Selma
McKenzie (9-1) at Maplesville (10-0)
Notasulga (8-3) at Fruitdale (9-2)
North Sub-State
Phillips (10-1) at Hubbertville (10-0)
Ragland (10-1) at South Lamar (5-6)
Hackleburg (10-1) at Cedar Bluff (6-5)
Donoho (11-0) at Marion County (6-5), Guin

Class 2A
South Sub-State
G.W. Long (10-0) at Leroy (6-5)
Sweet Water (8-3) at Elba (11-0)
Cottonwood (9-2) at Flomaton (8-3)
Washington County (11-0) at Geneva County (7-3), Hartford
North Sub-State
Tanner (9-2) at Randolph County (9-2), Wedowee
Reeltown (10-1) at Fyffe (11-0)
Cleveland (9-2) at Woodland (8-3)
Gaston (8-3) at Ranburne (10-0)

Class 3A
South Sub-State
Dale County (11-0) at Geneva (6-5)
T.R. Miller (10-1) at Montgomery Academy (11-0)
Pike County (7-3) at Gordo (11-0)
Opp (8-3) at Slocomb (7-4)
North Sub-State
Lauderdale County (9-2) at Glencoe (11-0)
Plainview (9-2) at Colbert County (7-4), Leighton
Piedmont (8-3) at Madison Academy (10-1)
Oakman (10-1) at Walter Wellborn (7-3), Anniston

Class 4A
South Sub-State
W.S. Neal (7-3) at Munford (8-3)
Clarke County (9-2) at Leeds (10-1)
Straughn (9-1) at West Blocton (10-1)
Dadeville (7-4) at  UMS-Wright (10-1), Mobile
North Sub-State
Cleburne County (9-2) at Cordova (8-3)
Haleyville (9-2) at Oneonta (9-2)
Saks (10-1) at Deshler (10-1), Tuscumbia
Fayette County  (8-3) at Jacksonville (9-2)

Class 5A
South Sub-State
Calera (10-1) at Greenville (9-2)
Jackson (9-2) at Tallassee (8-3)
Charles Henderson (8-3) at B.C. Rain (5-6), Mobile
Clay County Central (8-3) at St. Paul’s Episcopal (11-0), Mobile
North Sub-State
Lincoln (7-4) at Pleasant Grove (9-2)
Ramsay (10-1) at Guntersville (11-0)
Mortimer Jordan (10-1) at East Limestone 11-0)
Madison County (8-3) at Parker (10-1),  Birmingham

Class 6A
South Sub-State
Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa (8-3) at Carver-Montgomery (9-2), Cramton Bowl, Montgomery
Saraland (10-1) at Opelika (9-1)
McAdory (11-0) at Oxford (6-5)
Benjamin Russell (10-1) at Spanish Fort (10-1)
North Sub-State
Muscle Shoals (8-2) at Clay-Chalkville (11-0)
Southside-Gadsden  (9-2) at Decatur (8-3)
Shades Valley (9-2) at Florence (9-2), Braly Stadium
Homewood (9-2) at Gardendale (7-4)

Class 7A
South Sub-State
Foley (8-3) at Fairhope (11-0)
Prattville (9-2) at Central-Phenix City (10-1)
North Sub-State
Tuscaloosa County (6-5) at Hoover (9-2), Hoover Met
Oak Mountain (10-1) at Gadsden City (9-2) 

Comments are closed.