Banquets Highlight Final Day of Summer Conference

     The AHSAA Summer Conference concludes Friday with the Athletic Directors and Principals meeting and the mandatory Medical Advisory meeting.  AHSAA Executive Director Steve Savarese will address the membership in the morning session, and AHSAA Medical Advisory Committee co-chairmen Dr. Lawrence Lemak and Dr. James Robinson will address the administrators in the afternoon session.
          The eighth annual Star Sportsmanship luncheon at the Montgomery Renaissance at noon will recognize 121 high schools that were ejection and fine free for the 2014-15 school year. The Alabama Media Group (al.com) will award $1,000 grants to eight of the schools, one from each district, in a show of support for the AHSAA’s sportsmanship initiatives. The eight are:

District 1:             Millry
District 2:             Carroll-Ozark
District 3:             R.C. Hatch, Uniontown
District 4:             Beauregard
District 5:             Wenonah, Birmingham
District 6:             Jacksonville Christian

District 7:             Lawrence County, Moulton

District 8:             Cullman

The 19th annual AHSAA Championship Coaches banquet sponsored by the AHSADCA will be at the Renaissance Center at 6 p.m. Coaches 2014-15 state championship teams will be recognized as well as seven individuals who were selected as the 2015 Making A Difference Award – given annually to a coach or administrator who has made major contributions above and beyond to their schools, communities and the state.  Selected from the made nominations by schools and other organizations are:

Class 1A: Marilyn Miller, Marengo High School basketball, volleyball and track coach  
Class 2A: Don Turner, LaFayette High School principal
Class 3A: Brad James, Colbert Heights High School softball and volleyball coach
Class 4A: Todd Nelms, Brooks High School baseball coach
Class 5A: Sue Marshall, Randolph High School administrator and tennis coach
Class 6A: Brenda Mayes, Muscle Shoals administrator and volleyball coach
Class 7A: Chris Brandt, Auburn High School assistant basketball and track coach

Other highlights of the Championship Coaches banquet will be Lemak Award need-based grants presented to 10 AHSAA member high schools and the AHSADCA Coaches’ Children’s  Scholarships presented to 10 graduating seniors (2015) who are children of AHSADCA members.
       The schools receiving Lemak Awards were selected by a special Central Board committee from more than 80 schools that submitted need-based requests. Each school will receive a $2,500 grant -- bringing the total presented through the Lemak Award to $205,000 since its inception. The Lemak Award, which was started by the Lemak Foundation in 2008, is named in honor of Dr. Larry Lemak, co-chairman of the AHSAA Medical Advisory Committee and a member of the AHSAA Sports Hall of Fame.
     The 10 schools receiving grants this year include:

Marengo (1A)
Red Level (1A)
South Lamar (2A)
Choctaw County (2A)
Weaver (3A)
Pisgah (3A)
Jacksonville (4A)
Carver-Birmingham (5A)
Paul Bryant (6A)
Baldwin County (7A)

      This year’s winners and the AHSADCA member parent are listed:
Khalil Jordan Yelding, Daphne High School (parent: Lawrence Thomas Yelding) – District 1; Naareh Ayanna Cooke, Georgiana High School (parent: Beverly Cooke) – District 2; Paden Browning, Saint James High School (parent: Jerry Browning) – District 3; Thomas Collin Carter, Auburn High School (parent: Tommy Carter) – District 4; Justin Anderson, Pelham High School (parent: Sean Anderson) – District 5; Joshua Mason Bogle, Gaston High School (parent: Tonya Bogle) – District 6; Josiah McDaniel, Faith Christian School  (parent: Erik McDaniel) – District 6; Sarah “Sally” Tinker, Glencoe High School (parent: Wendy Tinker) – District 6; Ty Austin Herron, Lamar County High School (parent: Vance Herron) – District 7; Bryant Farley, West Point High School (parent: Don Farley) – District 8.
      The AHSAA Officials Awards luncheon will close out the week Saturday at the Renaissance with its annual awards banquet. Officials who were selected for state championship events will be honored as well as district and state officials of the year and officials receiving distinguished service awards.

Comments are closed.