Prep Football Squads Set to Report For 56th North-South All-Star Game

       North-South All-Star squads report Monday to begin preparation for the 56th All-Star Football Game set for Friday night, July 17 at Montgomery’s Cramton Bowl.
       Kickoff is set for 7 p.m. The game will be live-streamed over the NFHS Network and will be broadcast live over the AHSAA Radio Network. Check www.ahsaa.com for more details.
      Both squads, comprised of 2015 seniors, were selected by a special coaches’ committee of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA), said Alvin Briggs, the AHSADCA director.
      The teams will be housed on the campus of Auburn University-Montgomery. The North will practice at St. James High School and the South will practice at Trinity Presbyterian High School. AHSAA Hall of Fame coach Lamar Harris of Hubbertville is head coach for the North, and Carver-Montgomery’s Billy Gresham is head coach for the South.
      The game will be played the week prior to the 2015 AHSAA Summer Conference, which will be held July 21-25 at Montgomery’s Renaissance Hotel and Convention Center. North-South all-star competition for baseball, softball, boys’ and girls’ soccer, boys’ and girls’ basketball and volleyball will be held during the Summer Conference.
Harris became the head football coach at Class 1A Hubbertville in the fall of has been the head football coach at Hubbertville for 38 seasons -- beginning in 1979. His tenure at Hubbertville is one of the longest in Alabama high school football history. He has a 219-188 career record including 14-1 last season, best in school history. His team lost in the Class 1A state finals at Auburn’s Jordan-Hare Stadium to Maplesville in 2014. Twenty-five of his teams have advanced to the AHSAA state playoffs.
        Harris coached in the 1999 state North-South all-star football game. He was inducted into the Alabama High School Athletic Association's Hall of Fame in 2002.
        One of the AHSAA’s most versatile coaches, Harris has also served as Hubbertville’s softball coach for 16 years with three state championships and a 403-135 record. He coached girls' basketball for 23 years and captured two state titles with an overall record of 293-170. His 24 boys' basketball teams have won four area crowns. |
        Gresham Billy Gresham will be entering his fifth season as head football coach this fall. He has compiled a record of 38-12 over the last four seasons. His teams have qualified for the playoffs every year, reaching the semifinals in 2012 and quarterfinals in 2013. Carver has won two region titles (2012 and 2014) under his reign. He served as defensive coordinator for three years at Carver before being named head coach in 2011. His overall record at Carver is 69-19 as defensive coordinator and head coach. His Wolverines will open the season versus Bob Jones in the 10th annual Champions Challenge at Cramton Bowl Aug. 22.
        The South holds a 30-23-2 edge in the North-South series which began in 1948. The South won 20-12 last year.
        Five players have been added to the North roster since the team was announced in May, including Madison Academy offensive lineman John Crider, Oak Mountain linebacker Riley Fowler, Clay-Chalkville offensive lineman Tyon Hardy, Ranburne wide receiver Kyle Lovvorn and Pelham running back Morgan Sharp.
    Added to the South squad are Greenville wide receiver Raheem Moore, Hillcrest-Evergreen all-purpose athlete Keyshawn Roache and Notasulga linebacker Jason Williams.
      Coaches named to Gresham’s South staff are Deric Scott of Vigor, Nathan McDaniel of Baldwin County, Pate Harrison of Dale County, Ashley Kilcrease of Brantley, Maurice Heard of B.T. Washington, Tim Perry of Wetumpka and Michael Summers of Alabama Christian, who will serve as administrative coach.
      Named to the Harris’ North staff are Mark Hastings of Oakman, Scott Mansell of Hueytown, Larry Strain of Handley, Jason Howard of Spring Garden, Danny Miller of Hanceville, Mike Bates of Holly Pond and Darby Palmer of Alabama Christian, the North administrative coach.
      The AHSADCA operates under the auspices of the Alabama High School Athletic Association. Membership includes coaches of all AHSAA sports as well as administrators of member schools.

        All North-South rosters can be found at www.ahsaa.com at the following link: 

The NFHS Network will live-stream all six North-South all-star competitions.

The complete 2015 North-South all-star schedule is listed below:
North-South Football                         July 17, Cramton Bowl, 7 p.m.
North-South Baseball                        July 21, Riverwalk Stadium. 4 p.m. (2 games)
North-South Softball                         July 21, Lagoon Park, 5 p.m. (2 games)
North-South Girls Soccer                  July 21, Emory Folmar Soccer Complex, 5 p.m.
North-South Boys Soccer                 July 21, Emory Folmar Soccer Complex, 7 p.m.
North-South Girls Basketball            July 22, Dunn-Oliver Acadome, 6 p.m.
North-South Boys Basketball           July 22, Dunn-Oliver Acadome, 8 p.m.
North-South Volleyball                      July 23, Cramton Bowl Multiplex, 4 p.m.


(Overall Series: South leads 30-23-2)

At Cramton Bowl, Montgomery
2014—South 20, North 12

2013—South 22, North 21

2012—North 34, South 12
2010—North 14, South 7

2011—South 37, North 33

Alabama A&M, Huntsville

2010—North 14, South 7

2009—North 14, South 7

2008—South 12, North 0

2007—South 10, North 0

At Troy University

2005—(December) – South 16, North 7

2004— (December) – North 7, South 3

At All-Star Sports Week

Cramton Bowl, Montgomery

2004—North 17, South 7

2003—South 17, North 10

2002—South 34, North 0

2001—North 6, South 3

2000—North 17, South 0

1999—South 10, North 7

1998—South 21, North 0

1997—South 14, North 0

At Auburn

Jordan-Hare Stadium

1984—North 21, South 20 (1A-2A)

At Tuscaloosa

Bryant-Denny Stadium

1984—South 7, North 6 (3A-4A)

1983—South 34, North 7

1982—North 3, South 0

1981—North 14, South 6

1980—South 20, North 7

1979—South 3, North 0

1978—South 21, North 14

1977—South 17, North 7

1976—South 14, North 6

1975—North 7, South 6

1973—North 22, South 15

1972—South 14, North 13

1971—North 9, South 7

1970—South 13, North 9

1969—South 16, North 0

1968—South 27, North 7

1967—South 14, North 10

1966—North 13, South 7

1965—North 13, South 6

1964—South 34, North 7

1963—North 20, South 6

1962—South 20, North 14

1961—South 13, North 0

1960—North 7, South 0

1959—North 10, South 7

1958—South 20, North 6

1957—North 12, South 7

1956—South 0, North 0 (tie)

1955—North 26, South 7

1954—North 7, South 6

1953—South 26, North 0

1952—North 7, South 7 (tie)

1951—South 31, North 0

1950—South 12, North 7

1949—North 7, South 6

1948—North 33, South 0

Comments are closed.