Montgomery Academy Captures AHSAA 1A/3A Boys & Girls State Tennis Championships


      MONTGOMERY  – Montgomery Academy’s boys won its sixth straight state tennis championship and the Montgomery Academy girls won its eighth title in the last nine seasons as the Eagles swept the AHSAA Class 1A/3A state tennis championships concluded Wednesday at Lagoon Park.
     Coach David Bethea’s boys won five of the six singles championships and all three doubles titles to post 61 points. Runner-up Altamont had 26, American Christian and Houston Academy tied for third with 21 each.
     Senior Bo Torbert won the No. 1 singles championship for the third year in a row. He beat John David Shealy of American Christian 6-0, 6-0 in the finals Wednesday and also joined his younger brother James Torbert to win the No. 1 doubles title over Madison Academy’s Dylan Young and Thomas Lambdin, 7-6, 6-1.  Janes, a freshman, also won at No. 2 singles.
     Other singles winners included Allen Millsap, Wyatt Davidson and William Robertson, at 4, 5 and 6, respectively, for MA.  Dylan Fullilove of Altamont prevented a complete sweep winning the No. 3 singles title over Robert Dunlap of Houston Academy, 6-3, 5-7, 6-3.
     Westbrook Christian was selected the boys’ Sportsmanship Award recipient.

Montgomery Academy Girls Win 8th Title in Last 9 Years
     Montgomery Academy’s Lady Eagles scored 56 points, winning two singles winners and won all three doubles championships to take the title. Bayside Academy, which won the other four singles championships, was second with 40 points and Decatur Heritage finished third with 23.
     MA, coached by Fairlie Herron and Tommy Traylor, won the No. 4 singles championship with senior Lucy Massey beating Kristen Cates of Westminster-Oak Mountain 6-4, 6-7, 6-4 in the finals. Freshman Shelby Slawson won the No. 6 singles. Elizabeth Robertson and Holland Griffin downed Abby Tubbs and Lizzie Bishop of Decatur Heritage in the No. 1 doubles finals 6-2, 6-4.   Kate Dockery and Massey won No. 2 doubles, and Sellers McConnell joined Martha Earnest to take the No. 3 doubles crown.
       Abby Warner of Bayside won the No. 1 singles championship beating Erin Young of Madison Academy 6-1, 6-0.  Kida Ferrari, Evelyn Pickett and Mary Catherine Branyon also won singles in the No. 2, 3 and 5 slots. 
  Altamont was the Sportsmanship Award recipient for the girls’ division.
    Complete finals results are below. All completed tennis results can be found at http://www.ahsaa.com/Sports/Tennis/2016-State-Tennis-Tournament-Brackets.


AHSAA Tennis Championships
Class 1A/3A Final Results

Montgomery Academy 56; Bayside Academy 40; Decatur Heritage 23; Shoals Christian 12; Donoho 11; Westminster-Oak Mountain 9; Altamont 6; American Christian 6; Madison Academy 4.
Sportsmanship winner: Altamont.

No. 1 –
Abby Warner, Bayside Academy d. Erin Young, Madison Academy, 6-1, 6-0.
No. 2 – Kida Ferrari, Bayside Academy d. Karleigh Cross, Shoals Christian, 6-0, 6-0.
No. 3 – Evelyn Pickett, Bayside Academy d. Kate Dockery, Montgomery Academy, 7-5, 4-6, 6-4.
No. 4 – Lucy Massey, Montgomery Academy d. Kristen Cates, Westminster, OM, 6-4, 6-7, 6-2.
No. 5 – Mary Catherine Branyon, Bayside Academy d. Sellers McConnell, Montgomery Academy, 7-6, 6-0.
No. 6 – Shelby Slawson, Montgomery Academy d. Annamarie Woodfin, Donoho, 7-6, 6-4.

No. 1 –
Elizabeth Robertson/Holland Griffin, Montgomery Academy d. Abby Tubbs/Lizzie Bishop, Decatur Heritage, 6-2, 6-4.
No. 2 – Kate Dockery/Lucy Massey, Montgomery Academy d. Brooklyn Parker/Lida Orr, Decatur Heritage, 6-2, 4-6, 10-7.
No. 3 – Sellers McConnell/Martha Earnest, Montgomery Academy d. Avery Bowman/Baily Founds, Decatur Heritage, 6-1, 6-1.

Montgomery Academy 61; Altamont 26; American Christian 21; Houston Academy 21; Donoho 18; Madison Academy 8; Westbrook Christian 3.
Sportsmanship winner: Westbrook Christian.

No. 1 –
Bo Torbert, Montgomery Academy d. John David Shealy, American Christian, 6-0, 6-0.
No. 2 – James Torbert, Montgomery Academy d. Braden Reed, Houston Academy, 6-1, 7-5.
No. 3 – Dylan Fullilove, Altamont d. Robert Dunlap, Houston Academy, 6-3, 5-7, 6-3.
No. 4 – Allen Millsap, Montgomery Academy d. Arjun Lakhanpal, Altamont, 6-2, 6-0.
No. 5 – Wyatt Davidson, Montgomery Academy d. Gray Hanley, Donoho, 6-1, 7-5.
No. 6 – William Robertson, Montgomery Academy d. Mac Lidikay, Altamont, 6-3, 7-5.
No. 1 –
Bo Torbert/James Torbert, Montgomery Academy d. Dylan Young/Thomas Lambdin, Madison Academy, 7-6, 6-1.
No. 2 – Clayton Muller/Allen Millsap, Montgomery Academy d. David Hudson/Cooper Montgomery, Donoho, 6-1, 6-0.
No. 3 – Wyatt Davidson/Camp Spain, Montgomery Academy d. Clark Thomason/Connor Quit, American Christian, 6-0, 6-2.

Comments are closed.