Mountain Brook, Vestavia Hills Win Class 7A Tennis Championships

       DECATUR – Vestavia Hills edged out Mountain Brook 42-40 to capture the AHSAA Class 7A girls’ state tennis championship Tuesday, and Mountain Brook High School’s boys’ captured the boys’ 7A title as the 7A State Championships concluded at Decatur’s Almon Tennis Center at Point Mallard.
      Vestavia Hills’ girls, coached by Shelley Sumner , posted three singles wins and one doubles victory in the finals to nip Mountain Brook 42-40. The Spartans had two singles champions and one doubles winner.  Huntsville was third with 29.
       Winning singles titles for Vestavia Hills were Georgia Moros at No. 3, Maggie Nelson at No. 5 and Harper Anderson at No. 6.  Moros, a junior, and Nelson won the No. 3 doubles and seniors Haley Harmon and Hannah Nelson fell in the No. 1 doubles finals to Daryn Ellison and Sidney Ellison of Spain Park.
      Freshman Margaret Polk paced the Lady Spartans winning the No. 1 singles title with a 6-1, 6-0 win over Fairhope sophomore Caroline Adams in the finals.  
     Fairhope was selected the 7A Sportsmanship Award recipient.
Mountain Brook Boys Dominate
     Mountain Brook’s boys, coached by Susan Farlow, rolled to four singles state titles and swept all three doubles finals to post 53 points as the Spartans won for a state boys title for the 27th time -- an AHSAA record. McGill-Toolen was second with 22, followed by Enterprise with 20 and Spain Park, 18.
     Bob Jones senior Vincent Rettke closed out his prep career with his second straight Class 7A state singles title. Rettke beat Fairhope freshman Will Dodson 6-1, 6-1 in the No. 1 singles finals. 
     Junior David Faulkner won the No. 2 singles championship for Mountain Brook winning 6-1, 7-5 over McGill-Toolen’s Hallet Green. Seniors Yates Jackson, Seth Cohen and Leo Styslinger also won 3, 5 and 6 singles, respectively, for the Spartans.
    Peter Hartman and Jackson won the No. 1 singles title, Faulkner and Paul Jones won No. 2 doubles, Chase Robinett and Andrew Karcher, No. 3 doubles for Mountain Brook.
    McGill-Toolen was the Sportsmanship Award recipient for the boys’ division.
    Complete finals results are below. All results can be found at www.ahsaa.com for Class 7A and Class 1A-3A, which got underway Tuesday at Montgomery’s Lagoon Park.

AHSAA Tennis Championships
Class 7A Final Results

Vestavia Hills 42; Mountain Brook 40; Huntsville 29; McGill-Toolen 14; Spain Park 12; Auburn 7; Enterprise 4; Fairhope 3, Bob Jones 2.
Sportsmanship winner: Fairhope.

No. 1 –
Margaret Polk, Mountain Brook d. Caroline Adams, Fairhope, 6-1, 6-0.
No. 2 – Ashley Cooks, Huntsville d. Sarah Cooper, Mountain Brook, 6-2, 4-6, 6-1.
No. 3 – Georgia Moros, Vestavia Hills d. Hallet DeMouy, McGill-Toolen, 6-1, 6-2.
No. 4 – Cele Sullivan, Mountain Brook d. Sage Ellis, Vestavia Hills, 6-2, 6-3.
No. 5 – Maggie Nelson, Vestavia Hills d. Morgan Jenkins, Mountain Brook, 4-6, 6-3, 6-0.
No. 6 – Harper Anderson, Vestavia Hills d. Laura Walker, Huntsville, 6-3, 6-3.
No. 1 –
Daryn Ellison/Sidney Ellison, Spain Park d. Haley Harmon/Hannah Nelson, Vestavia Hills, 6-2, 4-6, 6-3.
No. 2 – Sarah Cooper/Cele Sullivan, Mountain Brook d. Hallet DeMouy/Helen Ann Cornell, McGill-Toolen, 6-1, 6-4.
No. 3 – Georgia Moros/Maggie Nelson, Vestavia Hills d. Claudia Stephens/Emily Felix, Huntsville, 6-1, 6-1.

Mountain Brook 53; McGill-Toolen 22; Enterprise 20; Spain Park 18; Huntsville 17; Bob Joes 8; James Clemens 6; Fairhope 6; Auburn 5; Oak Mountain 4.
Sportsmanship winner: McGill-Toolen.

No. 1 –
Vincent Rettke, Bob Jones d. Will Dotson, Fairhope, 6-1, 6-1.
No. 2 – David Faulkner, Mountain Brook d. Hallet Green, McGill-Toolen, 6-1, 7-5.
No. 3 – Yates Jackson, Mountain Brook d. Connor Coots, Huntsville, 6-1, 6-0.
No. 4 – Connor Coleman, Spain Park d. Brett Blackburn, Enterprise, 6-3, 6-2.
No. 5 – Seth Cohen, Mountain Brook d. Jeffery Schock, McGill-Toolen, 6-1, 6-1.
No. 6 – Leo Styslinger, Mountain Brook d. Ryan Stafford, Spain Park, 6-1, 6-2.
No. 1 –
Peter Hartman/Yates Jackson, Mountain Brook d. Jachym Bezouska/ Ethan Forbes, Huntsville, 6-2, 6-2.
No. 2 – David Faulkner/Paul Jones, Mountain Brook d. Christopher Scherzburg/Evan Pruett, Enterprise, 6-0, 6-1.
No. 3 – Chase Robinett/Andrew Karcher, Mountain Brook d. Connor Coleman/Sam Johnson, Spain Park, 6-1, 6-0.

Comments are closed.