Thursday, February 20, 2020






Six Outstanding Defensive Backs Selected For 2017 Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic

     MONTGOMERY – Six outstanding defensive backs have been chosen for the 40-player Alabama All-Star Team that will face Mississippi in the 31th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Football Game Dec. 16 at the University of Southern Mississippi at Hattiesburg.
     The roster, comprised of current high school seniors, is being released this year by position this week. Defensive linemen were announced Monday, offensive linemen on Tuesday, linebackers and defensive end on Wednesday and running backs Thursday. Wide receivers/tight ends will be announced Saturday and quarterbacks/kickers on Sunday, according to Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association. 
     The annual all-star contest is an event of the AHSADCA and the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) and the Mississippi Association of Coaches (MAC). Steve Smith of Piedmont is serving as Alabama’s head coach.
     The defensive backs selected include: Jalyn Armour-Davis, St. Paul’s Episcopal; CarDamien Daniels, Homewood; Jakorey Hawkins, R.E. Lee-Montgomery; Kevontae Ruggs, R.E. Lee-Montgomery;
Cardavion Myers, Piedmont; and Starling Thomas, Ramsay.
    Photos, videos, statistics and other information on each of the all-stars can be found at

     The remaining members of the squad will be released in the following order:
     Saturday, Oct. 21: Wide Receivers/Tight Ends
     Sunday, Oct. 22: Quarterbacks/Kickers
   The all-star game, which has been played annually since 1988, was played in Mississippi for the first time in 2015 with Mississippi winning 28-21. Alabama rebounded to win 25-14 last year at Cramton Bowl and improved its edge in the series to 22-8.
      The game will be televised live over the Raycom Network of stations in Mississippi and Alabama. The contest will also be broadcast live over the AHSAA Radio Network.

Attached Files

Comments are closed.