Friday, February 28, 2020






Six Honored with Distinguished Service Awards AHSAA Closes Summer Conference With Officials’ Awards Luncheon

     MONTGOMERY – Six officials with a combined 173 years of officiating experience received the Greg Brewer Distinguished Service Award at Saturday’s AHSAA Officials Awards Luncheon at the Montgomery Renaissance Hotel and Convention Center. Receiving the AHSAA’s highest officiating honor were Larry Galloway (38 years) of Hartford; Don Hudson (37 years) of Oxford); Bill Young (35 years) of Dadeville; Jimmy Isbell (34 years) of Tuscumbia; Gwyn Morgan (34 years) of Moulton; and Gary Knight (32 years) Dothan.
    Longtime contest official, district director and volunteer Gary McGriff of Holly Pond was also recognized McGriff received the National Federation of High School Associations (NFHS) National Contributor Award.
    He has been a visionary, always providing opportunities for officials to grow technologically, he continues to be a state leader with regard to communication, not only between officials, but most importantly our Association.  According to Steve Savarese, Executive Director of the AHSAA, “The greatest compliment I could provide Gary is to describe Gary as a servant, dedicating his life to serve the AHSAA through officiating.” 
   More than 370 attended the luncheon that recognized all contest officials who officiated in state championship events in 2016-17 as district and state officials of the year. Wright Waters, former Sun Belt Conference Commissioner who became the first executive director of the Football Bowl Association, was the keynote speaker at the luncheon that officially closed the 2017 AHSAA Summer Conference and Coaching School.
    State Officials of the Year: Selected AHSAA State Officials of the year in their respective sports were: Doug Baxter of Montgomery (Baseball); Katrina Evans of Mobile (Basketball); Pete Gonzalez Montgomery (Soccer); Jeff Bridges of Dothan (Softball); Keith Wilemon of Hartselle (Track); Jim Kirkpatrick of Huntsville (Volleyball); and Justin Miller of Decatur  (Wrestling).
   ASOF Scholarship Recipients: The Alabama Sports Officials Foundation also presented xx scholarships to children of officials in honor of the dedication and sacrifice families make to support the service of the state’s contest officials. To be eligible, the student must be planning attend a post-secondary school in Alabama.
    Those selected for the grants were: Cora Addison Bryan, Troy; Michael Evan Shaddix, Fort Payne; Andrew David Hester, Decatur; Matthew William Hrabovsky, Daphne; Tessa Faith Ivey, Nauvoo; Moriah Lee Brundidge, Brewton; Carly Alana Westmoreland, Addison; Abigail Faye Howard, Oxford; and Patrick Joseph Callahan, Hoover.




AHSAA District Officials of the Year

East Central:
Larry Stubbs, Jacksonvillle
North Central: Raymond Crawford, Dora
Northeast: Bobby Scheppler, Huntsville
Loyd Potter, Decatur

South Central: Doug Baxter, Montgomery
Brian Cross, Andalusia
Tim Naber, Theodore
West Central:
Danny Matherson, Moundville


East Central:
Rusty Burroughs, Jacksonville
North Central: Scott Richards, Homewood
Northeast: Marvin Wesley, New Market
Brandon Oaks, Hartselle

South Central: Bobby Tindal, Auburn
Reginald Franklin, Dothan
Katrina Evans, Mobile
West Central: James Sewell, Linden


East Central:
Johnny Brothers, Southside-Gadsden
North Central: Kevin Sutton, Birmingham
Northeast: Willis Jackson, Harvest
Gene Dickinson, Decatur

South Central: Frank Parsons, Montgomery
Ricky Morgan, Geneva
Ken Atkins, Demopolis
West Central: Fred Cody, Northport

East Central:
Charles Stanley, Guntersville
North Central: John David Nicholson, Vestavia Hills
Northwest: “Ed” Tate Wallace, Hartselle

South Central: Pete Gonzalez, Montgomery
Ben Davis, Andalusia
Ryan Campbell, Spanish Fort

East Central:
Nick Higdon, Albertville
North Central: Tessa Ivey, Nauvoo
Northeast: Aaron Golden, Madison

Northwest: Scottie Nichols, Sheffield
South Central:
Eric Morris, Montgomery
Jeff Bridges, Dothan
Tim Porter, Mobile
West Central: Carolyn Roshell, Holt

East Central:
Earl Lewis, Sylacauga
North Central: Stan Blakemore, Vestavia Hills
Northeast: Jeff Bradshaw, Madison

Northwest: Keith Wilemon, Hartselle
Darrell Houston, Daphne
Sheila Crenshaw, Mobile,

East Central:
Anthony Dupree, Leesburg
North Central: Anissa Smith, Birmingham
Northeast: Jim Kirkpatrick, Huntsville

Northwest: Walter Young, Moulton
South Central:
Walter Crosby, Millbrook
Michael Clayton, Dothan
Dwight Charley, Butler
West Central: Chris Cummings, Jasper

East Central:
Brent Helms, Southside
North Central: Mark Snider, Trussville
Northeast: Joe Stephenson, Union Grove

South Central: Justin Miller, Decatur
Rob Hazenwinkel, Pensacola, FL

Comments are closed.