Friday, February 28, 2020






Five Receivers and Tight End Selected for 2017 Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic

     MONTGOMERY – Six receivers and a tight end have been selected to the 40-player Alabama All-Star Team that will face Mississippi in the 31th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Football Game Dec. 16 at the University of Southern Mississippi at Hattiesburg.
     The roster, comprised of current high school seniors, was being released by position this week. Defensive linemen were announced Monday, offensive linemen on Tuesday, linebackers and defensive end on Wednesday, running backs Thursday, defensive backs Friday and quarterbacks and a kicker Sunday.
     The wide receivers and tight end selections were officially announced Saturday, according to Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association. 
     The annual all-star contest is an event of the AHSADCA and the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) and the Mississippi Association of Coaches (MAC). Steve Smith of Piedmont is serving as Alabama’s head coach.
     The tight end selected is Michael Parker of Westminster Christian. The receivers include: Demontrez Brown, Bob Jones; Shedrick Jackson, Hoover; Anquaevious Pollard, Lanett; Justyn Ross, Central-Phenix City; Seth Williams, Paul Bryant; and Nathaniel Watson, Maplesville, was chosen in the athlete position.
    Photos, videos, statistics and other information on each of the all-stars can be found at

   The all-star game, which has been played annually since 1988, was played in Mississippi for the first time in 2015 with Mississippi winning 28-21. Alabama rebounded to win 25-14 last year at Cramton Bowl and improved its edge in the series to 22-8.
      The game will be televised live over the Raycom Network of stations in Mississippi and Alabama. The contest will also be broadcast live over the AHSAA Radio Network.

Attached Files

Comments are closed.