Thursday, February 27, 2020






Class 7A Baseball Championship Series -- Game 2 Smiths Station Captures 7A State Championship with Sweep

     MONTGOMERY  -- Smiths Station (26-16-1) exploded for seven runs in the top of the sixth inning Saturday night en route to an 11-4 victory over Thompson in game two of AHSAA Class 7A state baseball championship series at Riverwalk Stadium as the Panthers won the first state championship in school history.
      Coach Mike Ferry’s Panthers beat Thompson in game one Saturday 3-2 to set up the sweep as the Class 7A series brought the 2015 state baseball championships to a close.
     Blake Rivera (7-5) pitched a complete game to get the second-game win. He scattered eight hits and struck out seven.  Thompson (31-18) starter Stephen Poplin (7-2) hurled five innings allowing nine hits and seven runs to get the loss.
      Shortstop Devin Brown was 3-for-4 with four RBIs. He had a triple in the seven-run sixth inning.  Number nine hitter Hunter Woodall delivered a bases-loaded triple in the top of the fourth inning as the Panthers scored four runs to take a 4-1 lead.  Dalton Sinquefield added two hits and two RBIs and Tim McGonegle also had two hits among the Panthers’ 13 total.
     Riley Reach and Lance Johnson each had two hits and an RBI for the Warriors of Coach Pat Hamrick. Jonathan Crawford and Zach Brammer also had a double each.
Attached Files

Comments are closed.