Saturday, February 22, 2020






CLASS 4A/5A TENNIS CHAMPIONSHIPS UMS-Wright Extends Girls’ Streak, Briarwood Ends UMS Boys’ Streak at Class 4A/5A Tennis Tourney

MOBILE – UMS-Wright’s Lady Bulldogs won the AHSAA Class 4A/5A State Tennis Championship for the record-setting ninth consecutive year Tuesday running away from the pack with 81 points. Runner-up St. Paul’s Episcopal had 33 and Saint James was third with 32.
     The UMS-Wright boys came into the 2017 state tourney also riding a state-record eight-year winning state championship streak but saw it come to an end as Briarwood Christian and St. Paul’s Episcopal finished 1-2 with 57 and 51 points, respectively, in the 4A/5A boys’ competition. UMS was third with 42 points.
     In individual action, Saint James senior Aaron Skier downed Douglas senior Alex Wisener 6-3, 6-3 in the boys’ No. 1 singles finals of the AHSAA Class 4A/5A State Tennis Championships at Mobile Tennis Center Tuesday.
    Sophomore Audrey Sewell of UMS-Wright won the girls’ No. 1 singles title with a 6-1, 6-2 victory over fellow sophomore Emma Beth Teel of Trinity Presbyterian. Coach Meridy Jones’ team swept five of six singles finals and two of the three doubles. The No. 1 doubles championship match was not completed.
    Elizabeth Swain won at No. 2 for the Bulldogs while teammates Tianna Dixon, Martha Williams and Adelaide Bell were champions at 3, 4 and 5. Katie Rowan of St. Paul’s won the No. 6 single title.
   In doubles play, Dixon and Williams teamed to capture the No. 2 title, and Anna Miller combined with Ellen Williams to win at No. 3. Trinity’s No. 1 doubles team of Emma Beth and Mary Conley Teel are scheduled to meet Briarwood Christian’s Kateleigh Calloway and Kara Coleman in the No. 1 doubles finals Wednesday due to the four-match limitation rule. The site and time was not determined at press time.
Coach Jeremy Mears’ Lions posted two singles wins and one doubles win to grab the championship. Freshman John Wolf posted s win at No. 2 singles for Briarwood winning 6-0, 6-1 over Jimmy Mackin of St. Paul’s. Eighth grader Alex Felts also won at No. 4. Other singles winners were Patrick McGowin of UMS (No. 3), Jack Citrin of St. Paul’s (No. 4) and Thomas Treadwell of Trinity Presbyterian (No. 6).
    The No. 1 doubles match finals between Briarwood’s duo of John and Luke Wolf versus Aaron Skier and Stephen Sides of Saint James was also postponed to Wednesday due to the match limitation. St. Paul’s Nathan Smith and Kessler Park won at 2 doubles and the Lions picked up a big win at 3 with Tyler Guerra and Felts winning 2-6, 6-2, 7-5 over UMS-Wright’s Giddens Fort and Trey Fowler. That match sealed the championship.
   Tuesday’s complete team and individual results can be found at  

Comments are closed.