Tuesday, November 12, 2019






All-Stars Selected for 26th Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Basketball Games

       MONTGOMERY – Twenty-four seniors have been selected to represent Alabama in the 26th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Basketball Games at Mississippi College at Clinton, MS, March 18.       
       The Alabama teams, comprised of 12 senior boys and 12 senior girls, were announced Tuesday by Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA). The teams were chosen from school nominations by the AHSACA All-Star Selection Committee.
       The girls’ game will tip off at 5 p.m. and the boys’ game will follow at 7 on Friday, March 18. 
        The games were played in Mississippi for the first time since 2002 in 2014,
but returned to Alabama last year. The games rotated between the two states from 1991-2002 but moved to Pelham Convention Center in 2003 where they remained through 2011. Alabama State hosted the games at Dunn-Oliver Acadome in 2012, 2013 and 2015.
won the boys’ game last year 101-88. The Alabama girls won 93-87. The Alabama boys now hold a 14-11 edge in the series while Alabama leads the girls’ series 13-12.
       Coaches for the Alabama girls’ squad are Brant Llewellyn of Lauderdale County and Emanuel Bell of Wenonah. Cold Springs’ Tammy West is the administrative assistant. Llewellyn’s Tigers (30-7) had a state-record 86-game winning streak snapped early this past season but rebounded to win their fifth Class 3A state championship in a row.  Bell’s Lady Dragons (33-1) won their third consecutive 5A title last weekend.
      Coaches for Alabama’s boys are Huntsville coaches Andy Blackston of Madison Academy and Ronnie Stapler of Westminster Christian.  Jamie Lee of Decatur and David Good of Mountain Brook are administrative coaches.  Blackston’s Mustangs (22-12) won the 3A boys’ title for the second year in a row, and Stapler’s Wildcats (30-3) won the school’s first 4A state basketball crown.
       Highlighting the
Alabama boys’ team 6-foot-7 center ShaMarkus Kennedy of Northridge, 6-8 forward Kevin Morris of Dothan, 6-6  forward Reginald Todd of Blount and 6-4 guard Javien Williams of Woodlawn. Trey Petty, a 6-3 forward for Stapler at Westminster Christian, was named the Class 4A State Finals MVP. Lanett guard 6-0 guard Tavaris Geiger earned MVP honors for Class 2A state champion Lanett, and 6-4 forward Justin Hopkins was named to the Class 5A State Finals all-tourney team for 5A state champion J.O. Johnson.
    Class 7A State Finals MVP Jasmine Walker of Jeff Davis, a 6-4 center, headlines the girls’ squad. The Florida State signee will be joined by sister Emma and Ivy Wallen of Lauderdale County, Kaitlyn Rodgers of Wenonah and Japonica James of LeFlore. Each helped leaded their respective teams to state titles in 2016.
     Rodgers, a 6-2 Ole Miss signee, was named to the 5A State Finals All-Tourney team for the third year in a row.  James, 5-11, was named 6A MVP after leading LeFlore to 35-0 record in 2016, and the Wallen sisters earned 3A State Finals all-tourney honors for Lauderdale County. Emma was selected MVP.
Complete team rosters include:


Player                                   School                                  Pos.          Ht.
Triston Chambers               Cold Springs                                G             6-3
Micah Fuller                        Bessemer City                              G             6-1
Tavaris Geiger                    Lanett                                          G             6-0
Justin Hopkins                   J.O. Johnson                                 F              6-4         
ShaMarkus Kennedy           Northridge                                   C               6-7
Jack Kline                          Mountain Brook                             F              6-5
Albert Luke                       Ramsay                                        F              6-6
Kevin Morris                      Dothan                                       F/G            6-8
John Pettway                    Keith                                            G              6-2
Trey Petty                        Westminster Christian                     F              6-3
Reginald Todd                   Blount                                          F              6-6
Javien Williams                  Woodlawn                                     G             6-4

Andy Blackston                 Madison Academy
Ronnie Stapler                  Westminster Christian
Jamie Lee                          Decatur (administrative)
David Good                       Mountain Brook (administrative)

Player                                   School                                  Pos.           Ht.
Katie Allen                          Albertville                                    G             5-10
India Blakely                       Charles Henderson                       G             5-7
Rachel Childress                  Lawrence County                         G             5-10
Japonica James                    LeFlore                                       C             5-11
Cierra Johnson                    Blount                                        G             5-10
Tyra Johnson                      Austin                                         G             5-7
Jailyn Maddox                     Hoover                                        G             5-10
Kaitlyn Rodgers                  Wenonah                                     F              6-2
Katelynn Thomas                Shades Valley                               C             6-0
Jasmine Walker                   Jeff Davis                                     C             6-4
Emma Wallen                      Lauderdale County                        G             5-7
Ivy Wallen                           Lauderdale County                       G             5-7
Brant Llewellyn                   Lauderdale County
Emanuel Bell                      Wenonah
Tammy West                      Cold Springs (administrative)

Comments are closed.