Red Bay's Roberts Notches 800th Career Victory


                                                           By KEITH LETBETTER
                                              Red Bay News (Special to the AHSAA)

    Red Bay High School girls coach Donnie Roberts notched the 800th win of his long prep basketball coaching career Jan. 25 as the Lady Tigers beat Colbert Heights 64-37. The Lady Tigers improved to 22-2 this season with the win.
    Roberts, who has compiled an 800-346 overall record in his 41-year coaching career, is now the state’s career wins leader for girls basketball and the first in state history to win 800 games.  He will be inducted into the Alabama High School Athletic Association Sports Hall of Fame in March as a member of the Class of 2014.

   “It’s not about me,” he said. “It’s about how fortunate my career has been at Red Bay and the 10 years Icoached at Tremont (Ms.). All I can do is thank the kids that played for me. They had a lot more to do with it than Idid.

   After earning a Master’s Degree from Mississippi State University, he returned to his alma mater, Tremont High School just across the state line from Red Bay and compiled a 142-127 record in the next 10 seasons. Roberts moved to Red Bay in 1983 and began working on the goal of making that first trip to Birmingham for the state playoffs.
    “I came here and took over a team that was 9-11 the year before. We had a real good year that first year and we went 19-5,” Roberts said.

    Roberts, who owns a 658-219 girls coaching record at Red Bay, led the Lady Tigers to state championships in 1987, 1993, 2001 and most recently directed Red Bay to the 2012 Class 2A state finals, a 54-49 loss to Section. Last year Roberts’ team won the Northwest Regional again and lost in the Final 48 semifinals.
     “It takes a combination of things to have a state championship program. It does take coaching, but it also takes pride in our program from our girls.”

      Roberts said that it also takes the involvement of the community.

“Everybody here is involved in it,”said Roberts. They back us and support us. The community likes to see us do well.

      Roberts said that over the years some of the best memories he has is that of having the opportunity to coach both of his daughters, Laura Beth and Leah.

“I think it’s rare to have coached two daughters and to have those two daughters on two different teams win state championships. I can tell you it’s a great experience.”

Corporate Partners


Leroy's Moseley Named 2008 Mr. Football

BIRMINGHAM -- Leroy High School quarterback Clint Moseley became the first Class 2A quarterback to be named the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Mr. Football.

 Moseley was named the 27th recipient of the ASWA Mr. Football Award Thursday night at the annual Player of the Year awards dinner held at the Birmingham News.
            “This is something you dream of as a kid, but you never think it’s going to happen to you,” said Moseley. “Look around at all the talent in this room. There’s a lot of talent here and this is just a great honor.”
            In winning the Mr. Football award, Moseley becomes the first player from a Class 3A school or smaller since Pike County’s Chris Nickson won in 2003 and the smallest school winner since Thomas Banks of Class 1A West Jefferson in 1993.

Moseley, a 6-foot-2, 190-pound quarterback, led the Bears to their third-straight Class 2A championship earlier this month as received his second-straight title-game MVP honor. He was named Class 2A Back of the Year by the ASWA on Dec. 4.

Moseley edged out two Backs of the Year, Cordova (3A) senior running back Tim Simon and Gadsden City (6A) defensive back Dre’ Kirkpatrick. Moseley received 195 points and 11 first-place votes in the balloting while Simon had 186 points and four first-place votes and Kirkpatrick 138 points and two firsts. ASWA member sports writers are the voters on the All-State and Mr. Football Committees.
            Also in the top five vote-getters were Sulligent quarterback/defensive back Caleb Massey (105) and Leeds defensive lineman/fullback Randon Carnathan (99).
            Moseley threw for 3,749 yards this season on 209-of-315 passing with 35 touchdowns and five interceptions, including a 272-yard performance against Sulligent in a 41-8 Class 2A title game win. He also ran for 693 yards and 15 touchdowns on the season.
            For his career, he completed 473 of 755 passes for 8,413 yards and 79 TDs with only 18 interceptions. He added another 1,899 rushing yards and 34 TDs on the ground. He also ended his football career on a 25-game winning streak.
            In addition to Moseley’s three Class 2A state championship game MVP honors, he has also led Leroy’s baseball team to the state 2A crowns in 2008 and 2007. His high school coach in both sports is Danny Powell.
            Last year’s Mr. Football was Foley wide receiver Julio Jones, now a freshman at Alabama. The 2006 winner was Larry Smith of Prattville, a red-shirt freshman quarterback at Vanderbilt.
The individual class winners were:

Class 1A

BACK:  Demont Buice, Gaston, RB

LINEMAN: Maurice Tate, Linden, LB


Class 2A

BACK:  Clint Moseley, Leroy, QB

LINEMAN: Amos Draper, Tanner, OL/DL


Class 3A

BACK:  Tim Simon, Cordova, RB

LINEMAN: Randon Carnathan, Leeds, DL


Class 4A

BACK:  Nolen Smith, Oneonta, WR

LINEMAN: Tana Patrick, North Jackson, LB


Class 5A

BACK:  Tyler Caldwell, Cullman, QB

LINEMAN: Leland Baker, Erwin, DE


Class 6A

BACK:  Dre Kirkpatrick, Gadsden City, DB

LINEMAN: Quinton Dial, Clay-Chalkville, DL

Mr. Football winners (1982-2008)

1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor, quarterback

1983 Freddie Weygand, Emma  Sansom, wide receiver

1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale, wide receiver

1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood, running back

1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery, running back

1987 Robert Jones, Parker, running back

1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor, running back

1989 Steven Coleman, Pike County, running back

1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olin, running back/wide receiver

1991 Robert Davis, Homewood, running back

1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowah, quarterback

1993 Thomas Banks, West Jefferson, running back

1994 Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley, running back

1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis, tight end/defensive end

1996 Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa, running back

1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria, running back

1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount, defensive lineman

1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville, running back

2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah, running back

2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville, quarterback

2002 JaMarcus Russell, Williamson, quarterback

2003 Chris Nickson, Pike County, quarterback

2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover, quarterback

2005 Andre Smith, Huffman, offensive lineman

2006 Larry Smith, Prattville, quarterback

2007 Julio Jones, Foley, wide receiver

2008 Clint Moseley, Leroy, quarterback