Red Bay's Roberts Notches 800th Career Victory


                                                           By KEITH LETBETTER
                                              Red Bay News (Special to the AHSAA)

    Red Bay High School girls coach Donnie Roberts notched the 800th win of his long prep basketball coaching career Jan. 25 as the Lady Tigers beat Colbert Heights 64-37. The Lady Tigers improved to 22-2 this season with the win.
    Roberts, who has compiled an 800-346 overall record in his 41-year coaching career, is now the state’s career wins leader for girls basketball and the first in state history to win 800 games.  He will be inducted into the Alabama High School Athletic Association Sports Hall of Fame in March as a member of the Class of 2014.

   “It’s not about me,” he said. “It’s about how fortunate my career has been at Red Bay and the 10 years Icoached at Tremont (Ms.). All I can do is thank the kids that played for me. They had a lot more to do with it than Idid.

   After earning a Master’s Degree from Mississippi State University, he returned to his alma mater, Tremont High School just across the state line from Red Bay and compiled a 142-127 record in the next 10 seasons. Roberts moved to Red Bay in 1983 and began working on the goal of making that first trip to Birmingham for the state playoffs.
    “I came here and took over a team that was 9-11 the year before. We had a real good year that first year and we went 19-5,” Roberts said.

    Roberts, who owns a 658-219 girls coaching record at Red Bay, led the Lady Tigers to state championships in 1987, 1993, 2001 and most recently directed Red Bay to the 2012 Class 2A state finals, a 54-49 loss to Section. Last year Roberts’ team won the Northwest Regional again and lost in the Final 48 semifinals.
     “It takes a combination of things to have a state championship program. It does take coaching, but it also takes pride in our program from our girls.”

      Roberts said that it also takes the involvement of the community.

“Everybody here is involved in it,”said Roberts. They back us and support us. The community likes to see us do well.

      Roberts said that over the years some of the best memories he has is that of having the opportunity to coach both of his daughters, Laura Beth and Leah.

“I think it’s rare to have coached two daughters and to have those two daughters on two different teams win state championships. I can tell you it’s a great experience.”


Carver’s Johnson Named ASWA Mr. Football For 2012


        Carver-Montgomery High School quarterback Jeremy Johnson was selected Mr. Football by the Alabama Sports Writers Association for the 2012 season.
        Johnson became the 31st recipient of the award which began in 1982. The 6-foot-6, 219-pound Auburn commitment’s selection was announced at the ASWA’s Mr. Football  Luncheon Wednesday at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery. The luncheon, which also honored 42 player-of-the year finalists, three linemen and three backs in each of the AHSAA’s six classifications and the AISA, was presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.
        Johnson was 198-of-293 passing for 3,193 yards and 31 touchdowns as he led the Wolverines to a 12-2 record. The senior also rushed for 705 yards on 105 carries and added eight more touchdowns. He passed for 2,432 yards and 24 touchdowns as a junior.
        Johnson, who was also named Class 6A Back of the Year, edged out Class 2A Back of the Year ArDarius Stewart of Fultondale by two points in the final ASWA balloting of member sports writers. Both received five first-place votes.

        Sophomore running back Kerryon Johnson of Madison Academy was third with 112 points, and Class 6A Lineman of the Year Reuben Foster, a linebacker at Auburn High School, was fourth with 102 points. The closest previous vote came in 2009 when Cherokee County's Coty Blanchard beat out Demopolis running back DaMarcus James, 165-162.
        Johnson, who was selected to the ASWA’s Super 12 team, played in the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game and the U.S. Army All-American Bowl all-star game. He was also named to the ASWA All-State Basketball Team as a junior as Carver won the 6A state title. He is one of the leading candidates for the 2013 Mr. Basketball Award.
        Other AHSAA Backs of the Year as selected by the ASWA were: (1A) Rodney Camp, Phillips, quarterback; (3A) Courtney Foy, Midfield, athlete; (4A) Jordan Chunn, Madison County, running back; (5A) Johnny Cook, Spanish Fort, defensive back.
        Other AHSAA Linemen of the Year as selected by the ASWA were: (1A) Damien Davenport, McIntosh, linebacker; (2A) Fred Rich, Tanner, linebacker;  (3A) Torrandine Harris, Midfield, defensive lineman; and (5A) Zach Cunningham, Pinson Valley, linebacker.        

All-Time ASWA Mr. Football Recipients

2012 Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, QB
2011 T.J. Yeldon, Daphne, RB
2010 Jamal Golden, Wetumpka, QB
2009 Coty Blanchard, Cherokee County, QB
2008 Clint Moseley, Leroy, QB
2007 Julio Jones, Foley, WR
2006 Larry Smith, Prattville, QB
2005 Andre Smith, Huffman, OL
2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover, QB
2003 Chris Nickson, Pike County, QB
2002 JaMarcus Russell, Williamson, QB
2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville, QB
2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah, RB
1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville, RB
1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount, DL
1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria, RB
1996 Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa, RB
1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis, DL
1994 Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley, RB
1993 Thomas Banks, West Jefferson, RB
1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowahm QB
1991 Robert Davis, Homewoodm RB
1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olinm RB/QB
1989 Steven Coleman, Pike County, RB
1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor, RB
1987 Robert Jones, Parker, RB
1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery, RB
1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood, RB
1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale, WR
1983 Freddie Weygand, Emma Sansom, WR
1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor, QB

Class 1A Back of Year Finalists

Rodney Camp, Phillips, QB
George Payne, St. Luke's, RB
Ready Swanigan, Marion County, RB/WR
Class 1A Lineman of Year Finalists
Damien Davenport, McIntosh, LB/OL
Taylor Driggers, Brantley, DL/OL
Justin Lucas, Notasulga, LB
Class 2A Back of Year Finalists
ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, QB
Tyler Rogers, Mobile Christian, RB
Tywone Stewart, Reeltown, RB
Class 2A Lineman of Year Finalists
Fred Rich, Tanner, LB
DeMarcus Holcombe, Washington County, LB
Jestavia Norris, Reeltown, DL
Class 3A Back of Year Finalists
Courtney Foy, Midfield, ATH
Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy, RB
JaTevin Madison, Fayette County, WR
Class 3A Lineman of Year Finalists
Torrandine Harris, Midfield, DL
Jamie Major, Piedmont, LB
Jamarious Henderson, Dale County, LB
Class 4A Back of Year Finalists
Jordan Chunn, Madison County, RB
Alvin Scott, Oneonta, WR
Toby Pee, Sardis, RB
Class 4A Lineman of Year Finalists
Rod Crayton, Dadeville, DL
Blake Bean, Oneonta, DL
Ronnie Clark, Calera, WR/ATH
Class 5A Back of Year Finalists
Johnny Cook, Spanish Fort, D
Joel Poe, Spanish Fort, QB
Tyler Jackson, Muscle Shoals, RB
Class 5A Lineman of Year Finalists
Zach Cunningham, Pinson Valley, LB
Tre Williams, St. Paul's, LB
Jordan Sims, Homewood, OL
Class 6A Back of Year Finalists
Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, QB
Racean Thomas, Oxford, RB
Marquez White, Northview, DB
Class 6A Lineman of Year Finalists
Reuben Foster, Auburn, LB
Grant Hill, Huntsville, OL
Austin Golson, Prattville, OL

Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery
ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale
Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy
Reuben Foster, Auburn
Jordan Chunn, Madison County
Courtney Foy, Midfield
Racean Thomas, Oxford
Johnny Cook, Spanish Fort
Rod Crayton, Dadeville
Zac Cunningham, Pinson Valley
Tre Williams, St. Paul's
O.J. Howard, Autauga Academy (AISA)